

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Bob Davis, 301.547.4112, <a href="mailto:bdavis@ASAM.org">bdavis@ASAM.org</a>

ROCKVILLE, MD, January 16, 2018 – The American Society of Addiction Medicine is pleased to award **Scott Teitelbaum**, **MD**, **DFASAM**, with the **Annual Award** to recognize and honor his outstanding contributions to the growth and vitality of our society, for thoughtful leadership in the field, deep understanding of the art and science of addiction medicine, and "for expanding the frontiers of the field of addiction medicine and broadening our understanding of the addictive process, through research and innovation."

Originally from New York, Dr. Scott Teitelbaum received his undergraduate degree in psychology at Lehigh University, attended medical school at Rochester University, and completed his internship residency in pediatrics at the University of Connecticut. He was the Phi Beta Kappa and Alpha Omega Alpha. He led a successful private pediatric practice for 10 years before completing a post-doctoral fellowship in addiction medicine and child psychiatry at the University of Florida College of Medicine. He joined the University of Florida, Department of Psychiatry faculty in 2002 and now serves as the department Vice Chair and Clinical Chief of the Addiction Medicine Division. In this role, he helped pilot one of the country's first addiction medicine fellowship programs, which to date has trained more fellows than any other program nationwide and was highlighted by the New York Times as 1 of 10 certified programs in the nation.

In 2010 he was inducted into the Conway Hunter Society, a national recognition for his leadership in the field of addiction medicine. In 2015 he was named the recipient of the Pottash Endowed Chair at the University of Florida, an honor given for his commitment to advancing the treatment and intervention of addiction through clinical and research advancements. Dr. Teitelbaum has been recognized as a national expert and has been consulted by the White House Office of National Drug Control, the DEA, and the Executive Office of the President. He has also served as past president of the Florida Society of Addiction Medicine, committee member of the Annenberg Foundation, and public policy chair of the American Board of Addiction Medicine. In addition to his service and volunteer commitments, he's been honored multiple times, most recently in 2015, with the University of Florida Exemplary Teacher award and is passionate about reducing stigma and continuing to advance the care and treatment given to those suffering from the disease of addiction.

Each year, ASAM recognizes and commends the innovators and leaders who have committed their efforts to treating addiction and saving lives. These prestigious awards will be presented to physicians and important leaders within the field of addiction medicine at The ASAM 49th

Annual Conference on April 14, 2018 in San Diego, California. Awardees are being acknowledged and honored for their service and contributions to the advancement of addiction medicine, public policy, and education.

ASAM President Kelly Clark, MD, MBA, DFAPA, DFASAM, will present this award during the 2018 Awards Luncheon.

The <u>American Society of Addiction Medicine</u> is a national medical specialty society representing over 4,300 physicians and associated professionals. Its mission is to increase access to and improve the quality of addiction treatment, to educate physicians, and other health care providers and the public, to support research and prevention, to promote the appropriate role of the physician in the care of patients with addictive disorders, and to establish Addiction Medicine as a specialty recognized by professional organizations, governments, physicians, purchasers and consumers of health care services and the general public. ASAM was founded in 1954, and has had a seat in the American Medical Association House of Delegates since 1988.